Comparison view

With the diagram and revision comparison tool, you can track changes in diagram revisions. While the activity feed in the Explorer gives you all the comments made on revisions of diagrams, the comparison view displays two diagram revisions next to each other with all the changes marked according to their nature: alterations, deletions and additions. Here, you can compare any two revisions of a diagram to another. This can be helpful when you are working collaboratively with your colleagues and need to approve or implement the changes someone else has made to a process.

In addition, you can compare two different diagrams with each other. This is useful when you are checking your workspace for duplicates after you imported multiple diagrams, for example.

The diagram and revision comparison tool.

The diagram and revision comparison tool

Opening the diagram comparison tool

There are three ways to open the comparison tool:

  • Via the menu bar

    In the Explorer, select a diagram. (If you want to compare two different diagrams, select both of them.) Then click Edit and then Compare revisions/diagrams in the top dropdown menu.

    Open the diagram comparison in the Explorer.

    Opening the comparison tool in the Explorer

  • Via the activity feed

    It is also possible to use the Explorer’s activity feed to open the comparison tool. Select a diagram revision in the feed and then click Open to Compare.

    Opening the comparator via the activity feed.

    Opening the comparator via the activity feed

  • Via the Editor

    You can switch directly from the Editor to the comparison tool by selecting Diagram comparison in the dropdown menu on the top right. Make sure that the latest version of the diagram is saved before switching tools. To get back to the Editor, you will have to open the diagram in the Explorer again.

    Switch between the different tools.

Switch between the different tools

Display options

By using the zoom slider in the top left-hand corner you can change the diagram size. This is helpful for when you have a very large diagram that you want to view at a glance.

The zoom slider in the comparison tool.

The zoom slider in the comparison tool

In addition, you can move diagram snippets by holding down the left mouse button and dragging the map in the desired direction.

By default, navigating through the diagrams is synchronized in both windows - if you zoom into one diagram, the other diagram will zoom in, too. You can deactivate this feature by unchecking Synchronized scrolling.

Deselect 'Synchronized scrolling' to only navigate one window at a time.

Deselection of ‘Synchronized scrolling’

Selecting a revision

The comparison view shows the revision history of each diagram. To switch to a diffrent revision, proceed as follows:

  1. Select the desired revision number from the dropdown menu on the top left.
Revision selection via the dropdown menu.
  1. Alternatively, you can click Choose revisions/diagrams to select a different diagram for comparison. The corresponding dialog box opens. Now all diagrams of the workspace with all their revisions are displayed.
The diagram/revision selection.
  1. Now you can choose between all diagrams and their revisions.
Choose two diagrams to compare them.
  1. Click Compare.

Diagram information displayed in the comparison tool

The diagram comparison shows structural and logic differences between diagrams or diagram revisions. Some of these differences can be easily seen when changing the sequence flow of a diagram. Other changes, like altering an attribute or adding a dictionary entry to an element, would not be visible when simply comparing two diagrams. Thus, all changes in the diagrams or diagram revisions are marked as follows. Hover the mouse on the icon in the right upper corner of an element to get more detailed information:

The following table lists all possible changes.

Change (image) Description
../../_images/compare_newelement.png
New elements: An element has been added to the diagram.
../../_images/compare_changedattribute.png
Changed attribute: the element’s attribute(s) has/have been changed.
../../_images/compare_changedglossaryentry.png
Changes in the dictionary: a dictionary entry has been added, removed or changed on this element.
../../_images/compare_removedelement.png
Changes in roles: the role the element was assigned to has changed.
../../_images/compare_diagram.png
Deletions: an element has been removed from the diagram.

At the bottom of the window, you can view information about how many changes of the same kind have occured.

If there are many changes, you may want to turn off some change notes. For example, when a lane is deleted, the role mapping changes all of the elements, which can lead to very long change notes. In this case, you can turn off all references to changed roles. To do so, use the selection at the bottom of the view.

By disabling the checkbox 'Changed role' you can turn off all references to changed roles.

By disabling the checkbox ‘Changed role’ you can turn off all references to changed roles