Working with comments

Signavio Process Manager allows you to write comments for diagrams and diagram elements. These comments can contain hints about process optimization or modeling details.

Comments are accessible in Collaboration Hub, the Explorer and the Editor.

Using comments helps simplify discussions about modeling details and process optimization, while avoiding misunderstandings that can happen when collaborating with many stakeholders or working on a process over a long period of time.

Comments are usually created in Collaboration Hub, as this is a functionality designed for presenting and discussing diagrams with every participant within the process. Comments may contain information about modeling mistakes or optimization points, or simply questions about diagram and process details. A modeler is informed about unread comments every time he enters the Explorer and can directly access and edit them in the Editor.

This chapter describes how to handle comments in the Editor. Collaboration Hub users who are not modelers can comment on diagrams in Collaboration Hub.

Hint

Collaboration Hub allows access to a set of published diagrams. To restrict the reading and commenting access to only one diagram, it is recommended to work with the Comments view.

Collaboration Hub allows you to systematically publish your process landscape. If you would like to collaborate with colleagues during the construction of a process, it is recommended to invite people to comment instead of publishing the diagram as published diagrams can be changed and commented on by everyone with workspace access.

Identifying unread comments

The Explorer marks each diagram that was recently commented on with speech bubbles at the top right corner of the diagram icon:

Speech bubbles on a diagram in the Explorer indicate that unread comments exist.

The number next to the speech bubble indicates the number of unread comments. Open the diagram in the Editor to read and, if required, adopt requested changes in the diagram. Each element in the diagram that was recently commented on will again be marked with a little speech bubble and the number of unread comments:

Comment on a modelling element

In the Editor, an unread comment sticks to a modeling element.

In the Editor, an unread comment sticks to a modeling element.

Comment on the diagram

In the Editor, comments that concern the whole diagram will be displayed in the upper left corner:

A comment on the wholediagram

A comment on the whole diagram

Note

If a comment is marked as read it will be invisible. To find a comment again, you have to click the Comments button in the top toolbar in the Editor. Deleted comments cannot be retrieved this way.

Factoring in comments

Click a speech bubble to see the comments for a diagram element. An extended speech bubble shows all unread comments on the element.

Sample

Accepting a comment

Accepting a comment

To accept a comment, click the link Factor in right below it. Its badge will then get a green color:

This comment was already accepted.

This comment was already accepted.

To revert a status update, click the status again.

When you save the diagram again, the new status of the comments will be noted. The next time a collaborator views the diagram e.g. in the Collaboration Hub, they will be able to see that their comment was accepted. Also, the comment is now considered as read and the comment count on the diagram will go to its former number.

Rejecting comments

Sometimes a suggestion in a comment cannot be integrated or a whole comment is rejected, which means it should neither be marked as accepted nor be deleted. In such cases the comments state can be set to ignored:

Rejecting a comment

Rejecting a comment

Comments that were ignored will be marked with a gray badge. After adjusting the comments state, save the diagram to make the new state accessible for your collaborators. To revert the comment status, click Ignore again.

Removing comments

Unwanted comments can only be deleted in the Editor. Open the speech bubble containing the unwanted comment and click the link Delete below it:

Removing a comment

Removing a comment

Confirm the warning by clicking Yes. The comment will be removed permanently.

Viewing comments that were already read

Unlike Collaboration Hub, the Editor only displays new comments by default. Comments that were already read and are archived as either accepted or ignored, thus invisible. To display read comments in the Editor, use the “Comments”-Button in the Editor’s upper toolbar:

The 'Comments'-button in the menu bar of the Editor.

The ‘Comments’-button in the menu bar of the Editor.

A speech bubble will then be attached to every diagram element:

Speech bubbles that contain unread comments are displayed thicker than those without.

Speech bubbles that contain unread comments are displayed thicker.

Click a speech bubble to extend it and display the comments attached to the element.

Adding comments

Besides reading or setting a comment-state, the Editor allows adding comments as well.

To write comments in the Editor. use the Comments-button of the toolbar to see a speech bubble at the top right of every element. Click the speech bubble attached to the element you want to comment on to open a new text field.

The lower part of the bubble contains a text field:

Enter the comment into the textfield and click Submit:

Add a comment in the Editor.

Add a comment in the Editor.

The comment will immediately be created and will also be accessible for users in Collaboration Hub, even without saving the diagram.