Managing access to Collaboration Hub for Active Directory services

This chapter describes how to manage access rights for Active Directory users and user groups on Collaboration Hub.

Note

A prerequisite is that you have integrated Collaboration Hub with your Microsoft Active Directory. For an overview of authentication options to Collaboration Hub, see Configuring access to Collaboration Hub.

Modeling users with the corresponding permissions have the possibility to publish diagrams to the Collaboration Hub.

If you have purchased and configured the corresponding module, you can set read access permissions for diagrams published in Collaboration Hub based on users and user groups in a shared domain. Signavio uses the Windows network account list to give users access to Collaboration Hub with their Windows network access credentials.

Active Directory integration options

  • When using Signavio’s Software-as-a-Service version, you can integrate Signavio with your Active Directory through a Microsoft SharePoint Connector.
  • When using Signavio’s On Premise Edition, you can integrate Collaboration Hub with Active Directory with or without Microsoft SharePoint. For further details, please read the Administrator Manual.

Managing read access to Collaboration Hub

As a user of the publishing module, you are able to determine fine-grained access to Collaboration Hub. You allow other users to see diagrams as well as folders in your workspace.

Hint

Granting read access to a diagram in Collaboration Hub does not enable Hub users to open the diagram in other applications like the Editor or Explorer.

You can grant read access to users that are logged into your domain. It is also possible grant access rights to entire user groups.

To define read access, proceed as follows:

  1. In the Signavio Explorer, click in the Setup menu the Manage users & access rights entry. he user management dialog opens.

  2. Switch to the Read access-tab.

    Manage read access.

    Manage read access.

  3. Select a folder or diagram in the left navigation column. The dialog shows the access rights connected to the object and, if existent, the folder the right was inherited from.

    Select the folder you want to configure read access for.

    Select the folder you want to configure read access for.

  4. Navigate to the folder or diagram. There are two ways to add access rights for a user:

    • Type in a user name by using the search functionality - as soon as you start typing, a drop down list with matching users appears. Select the user name.
    • Click the input field and select a user name from the drop down list. To navigate the sites, use the arrows below the list.
  5. Click Add. The user can now be found in the list of granted access rights.

    The read access will be established for the user.

    Read access will be established for the user.

Removing read access

Follow the first three steps in the paragraph above and continue as follows:

  1. Select the user you want to remove the read access from.

  2. Click Remove next to the user name:

    Remove read access.

    Remove read access.

    Hint

    If you cannot see the remove option for a diagram or folder, the read access right was inherited from a parent folder. Navigate to this folder by clicking its name in the column Inherited from.

  3. Confirm the action with Yes.

    Confirm the action.

    Confirm the action.