Tasks

A task represents work that someone will presumably complete. Cases typically include multiple tasks, usually those that the process defines. You can also add ad-hoc tasks to a case.

In Signavio Workflow Accelerator, you can assign a task to a specific user, set a due date and add subtasks.

Viewing all tasks

The All tasks view shows tasks for all assignees.

_images/all.png

The list of all tasks

This view includes filters that you can use to sort through a large list of tasks.

  • Involvement filter - shows tasks according to how they relate to you, such as tasks you started.
  • Process filter - shows tasks for a specific process.
  • Due date filter - shows tasks according to their due dates, such as only overdue tasks.
  • Completed filter - shows complete tasks, which the task list normally excludes.
  • Assignee filter - shows tasks that have a specific assignee, or tasks that have a specific candidate.

Viewing your tasks in the Inbox

The Inbox shows an overview of your assigned tasks: a list of tasks for you to work on. To open the Inbox, select Tasks from the main menu and select the Inbox tab.

_images/inbox.png

The tasks Inbox

Each task shows the assignee - you for all Inbox tasks - and a link to the task itself.

The left-hand side of the inbox has sections for tasks that have due dates, so you can prioritize your work. The right-hand side lists tasks that don’t have a due date.

Creating case tasks

To create tasks, open a case, and use the tasks list to add a new task. Enter the task title in the text box to create the task. After you have added a task, it appears in the list. When a process starts, Signavio Workflow Accelerator creates a case and starts all elements that do not have incoming transitions.

Assigning tasks

You can assign a task to yourself, or someone else, to indicate who you expect to work on the task. The assignee’s tasks inbox lists assigned tasks, and the assignee receives task notifications and reminders.

You can assign a task from anywhere a task appears in a task list. First, click the assignee button immediately to the left of the task name, to open the list of candidates.

_images/assign1.png

Assigning a task

To assign the task, select a candidate from the list, or type a name or email address to filter it first.

Completing tasks

There are two ways to complete a task. You can use the Done button on the task details page, or you can go back to the list of tasks and click the purple check button, as long as the task does not include a form.

When tasks have a form, the task details page displays the form and includes button(s) to complete the task at the bottom of the form. Normally there is only a single Done button, but the page will display multiple buttons when you use a decision. Each of those buttons will register the decision and complete the task in one go.

Task details view

Selecting a task opens the task details view.

When you open the Task details view, you will see three sections. The left-hand panel shows the lists of tasks that are associated with a particular case. The center panel shows all the details of a selected task. The right-hand panel shows comments and the history of a task, along with core information about your case. (You can also hide the right-hand panel, if desired.)

You can add ad-hoc subtasks using this view. Ad-hoc subtasks are tasks that are not included in the main process, but are added later as needed. The number of subtasks in a case is listed in the left-hand panel. To see details about a subtask, select a task.

Reopening tasks

When the task page shows a Reopen button, it means that someone has completed the task, but you can reopen it. You cannot reopen a task that has a form, because completing the task finalizes the form data. You may want to reopen a task that you closed by accident, or when you learn about additional work that belongs to this task. If you just forgot to attach a document or make a comment, you can still do that without reopening the task.

Reopening a task instead of creating a new task has the advantage that the existing task retains its context.